hello again!!!

W O W. Hello!

It’s been over three months since my last post.

!!!!!!!!

That was my Montréal travel journal. Since coming home from Montréal, I went to London and Paris (!!), struggled my way through junior year (still struggling), passed the one year anniversary of this blog (major !!!!), turned 16, and took pictures along the way.

I have missed posting on my blog a lot… and there’s really no good reason for explaining why I’ve been so MIA. The fact that junior year has absolutely been kicking my butt is probably a factor. But honestly, more than that, it’s just my own laziness combined with self-criticism towards my photos. But hey, in a couple of weeks it will be the new year (already?!) so my resolution is to just be fearless because this is my blog! 99% of the pictures won’t come out the way I imagined.

It’s the 1% that counts. It’s the 1% that reminds me of my love of photography and reminds me why I started this blog.

Well, that’s enough corniness for today.

This post will just be a compilation of everything that’s happened since Montréal. Hope you enjoy!

(Don’t forget to check out my Instagram, as a lot of my pictures end up on there long before they get posted here!!)

(FYI: During the Europe trip I only took photos with my phone, so I apologize in advance for the lack of quality!!)

Paris, France

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with m5 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

Warner Bros. Studio Tour, London

(This was a great day for me, because I absolutely love all things Harry Potter!!)Processed with VSCO with g3 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

Oxford, England

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

London

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

Diwali

Diwali is great for pictures because there are so many great opportunities to play around with fun lighting, sparklers, candles…VSCO Cam-1-2.jpg

VSCO Cam-1.jpgVSCO Cam-2.jpgVSCO Cam-3.jpgVSCO Cam-4.jpgVSCO Cam-1-3.jpg

VSCO Cam-5.jpg
Slow shutter speed is a great thing. I have to say, I’m quite proud of this picture… also shoutout to my sister for holding the sparkler!

It’s Christmastime!

(There are only 3 Christmas pics here, but I can easily assure you that there are many more to come!)

VSCO Cam-1-4.jpgVSCO Cam-2-1.jpgVSCO Cam-3-1.jpg

For the last two I was trying to achieve a bokeh effect but the aperture range on my lens wasn’t wide enough… so what I did was take the lens off and hold it just in front of the camera to kind of get a bokeh style photo. It does make it a bit grainy, but hey at least I tried 🙂

Others from who knows when or where

VSCO Cam-1-5.jpgVSCO Cam-2-2.jpgVSCO Cam-3-2.jpgVSCO Cam-4-1.jpg

VSCO Cam-5-1.jpg
This one is in color on my instagram page. It looks really cool in both versions! Plus, I took this with my phone. Sometimes iPhoneography can be really great 🙂

Hope you all enjoyed these pictures!! (Sadly, when transferring photos from my camera to my computer, the photos kind of become lower quality, causing graininess or fuzziness on some pics. Hopefully it’s not too noticeable!!)

I’m always adding new photos to my Instagram and VSCO Grid so check those out if you’d like 🙂

Moral of today’s blog post… power through the setbacks! If you compare my photos to those from one year ago, you can see how much they have changed. I am teaching myself everyday on how to improve, because I love photography!!! Just because I’m not the best doesn’t mean it should hold me back.

Thanks for listening to my cheesy self (through your computer) and once again, I hope you liked the pictures from today’s post! See you soon!

~Ashna

Today’s quote: “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” – Albus Dumbledore

(All photos taken with iPhone 6 or Canon Rebel T5i and edited with VSCO and/or Photos for Mac)

😀

One thought on “hello again!!!

Leave a Reply

